Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Android system development related discussion

Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Postby lord95 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 4:08 pm

Hi dopi found something in the init.rc or better i put something in.

in the init.rc there is something missing could it be that:
# to enable wifi
setprop wifi.interface "eth0"

chown root root /system/bin/wlservice
chmod 6777 /system/bin/wlservice
mkdir /data/misc/wifi 0777 wifi wifi
chmod 0777 /data/misc/wifi/
mkdir /data/misc/dhcp 0777 dhcp dhcp
mkdir /data/misc/wifi/sockets 0777 wifi wifi
# for WAPI CERT
# mkdir /data/misc/wifi/cert 0777 wifi wifi
# mkdir /data/misc/wifi/cert/as 0777 wifi wifi
# mkdir /data/misc/wifi/cert/user 0777 wifi wifi
# end of wifi

if it loads the module i only have to change the config files and it should work.
but how can i find out if these lines really work. i've put them into init.rc in jetdroid directory on my phone

edit:ok ok calm down i think it works!!!!!!
i've started jetdroid and started wlan in setting then i become the message failed to activiete wlan.
then i looked in the log of this system ana... eh i forgott the name and it shows me,that he activated wlan and module but then search for nvram file and one other so if i put these files from samdroid in the right directory it will work i think.

thanks. :D :D :D
lord95
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:47 am

Advertisement

       

Re: JetKernel 0.3pre1 (pre)release

Postby lord95 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 6:02 pm

i need help i always get this in the log:
DHD:dongle ram size is set to ....

dhd_bus_start:dhdsdio_probe_download failed.
firmeware= nvram=

eth0():not using net_device_ops yet
i need the fw path from the driver
lord95
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:47 am

Re: JetKernel 0.3pre1 (pre)release

Postby Thijs » Fri Nov 05, 2010 8:58 pm

lord95 wrote:i need help i always get this in the log:
DHD:dongle ram size is set to ....

dhd_bus_start:dhdsdio_probe_download failed.
firmeware= nvram=

eth0():not using net_device_ops yet
i need the fw path from the driver


Hi lord95,

Great progress! What often helps me in tackling this kind of problems is Google. For example Google for "dhd_bus_start:dhdsdio_probe_download failed". This lead me to this page: http://teamdouche.pastebin.com/39sZYzm4. Which shows this line:

[ 15.486451] dhd_bus_start: dhdsdio_probe_download failed. firmware = /system/etc/wifi/bcm4329_sta.bin nvram = /system/etc/wifi/nvram_net.txt

Maybe this give you a hint? Can you pass these path/file names? Otherwise you'll have to check the code where they get these path/file names from...

Good luck!

Best regards - Thijs
Thijs
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:28 pm

Re: JetKernel 0.3pre1 (pre)release

Postby lord95 » Fri Nov 05, 2010 9:10 pm

Thanks maybe this will help i try it.I also was looking in the codes of the driver and if your option doesn't work i will try to modify the driver that i can set the direction.but thanks a lot. :D
lord95
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:47 am

Re: Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Postby Dopi » Sat Nov 06, 2010 2:23 am

lord95 wrote:i need help i always get this in the log:
DHD:dongle ram size is set to ....

dhd_bus_start:dhdsdio_probe_download failed.
firmeware= nvram=

eth0():not using net_device_ops yet
i need the fw path from the driver


Hi lord95,

This is the error messages I also got when i tried to load the module. Now we need to find a way to fix it.

Cheers,
Dopi
Ad banners support the JetDroid forum. Please consider clicking them once in a while.
User avatar
Dopi
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Postby lord95 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 10:56 am

Hi dopi this is very interresting for me.When you activate wlan in settings what message do you get.I get the message wlan activatet then it search for wlan networks but it doesn't found one.after that it turns wlan off.I found in the sources the codes from the driver i've changed them a bit.Then hoe do i compile only the dhd.ko driver?I can also put the lines wich are important for the nvram and rscdc.bin here.

edit: ok that are the lines from dhd_sdio.c


1.dhdsdio_probe_attach() */
char *fw_path; /* module_param: path to firmware image */
char *nv_path; /* module_param: path to nvram vars file */
const char *nvram_params; /* user specified nvram



2.in dhd_linux.c in sys folder:


/* Definitions to provide path to the firmware and nvram
* example nvram_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN]="/projects/wlan/nvram.txt"
*/
char firmware_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN]=;
char nvram_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN];
lord95
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:47 am

Re: Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Postby Mericon » Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:27 pm

I only get Unable to start wifi.

can you upload your platform for me?
Mericon
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 4:08 pm
Location: Aachen

Re: Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Postby FunnyWarri0r » Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:29 pm

and for me :D
FunnyWarri0r
Active member
Active member
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Sat Oct 30, 2010 8:25 pm

Re: Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Postby Dopi » Sat Nov 06, 2010 3:58 pm

lord95 wrote:Hi dopi this is very interresting for me.When you activate wlan in settings what message do you get.I get the message wlan activatet then it search for wlan networks but it doesn't found one.after that it turns wlan off.I found in the sources the codes from the driver i've changed them a bit.Then hoe do i compile only the dhd.ko driver?I can also put the lines wich are important for the nvram and rscdc.bin here.


Good to hear that you see some change. I just don't undertstand why? Did you have to change the kernel to make this work? What are the canges? For me the Android system never started searching for networks. Thus I think you are making progess. Keep up the good work.

I always compile the whole kernel. It usually only compile the parts that have changed. There is a way to only compile the module but I must admit I don't know how to do this.

Cheers,
Dopi
Ad banners support the JetDroid forum. Please consider clicking them once in a while.
User avatar
Dopi
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: Initializing the wifi module (dhd.ko)

Postby lord95 » Sat Nov 06, 2010 4:19 pm

ok i can upload it but the filesystem is what should i say messed up :D .I will clean it and than load it up.
and with the build thing.the headers and datas for dhd.ko are in android not in kernel but if i build the android filesystem it doesnt produce the dhd.ko .It is very important to say the driver from where he has to load the nvram and rtedc.bin.Dopi could you look at the driver.I dont know if it really loads the setting from wifi.conf.Personally i dont think it does ,because when i'm leaving the wifi.conf it loads also.

is it possible that i can change this code:
/* Definitions to provide path to the firmware and nvram
* example nvram_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN]="/projects/wlan/nvram.txt"
*/
char firmware_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN]=;
char nvram_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN];

to this(bigger cutting) sorry for my bad english I#m from germany and only 16 :D :
char firmware_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN]="/projects/wlan/nvram.txt";
char nvram_path[MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN]="/projects/wlan/nvram.txt";

#if (LINUX_VERSION_CODE >= KERNEL_VERSION(2, 6, 27)) && 1
struct semaphore dhd_registration_sem;
#endif
/* load firmware and/or nvram values from the filesystem */
module_param_string(firmware_path, firmware_path, MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN, 0);
module_param_string(nvram_path, nvram_path, MOD_PARAM_PATHLEN, 0);
lord95
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 10:47 am

Next

Return to JetPlatform

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

  • Advertisement
cron