Froyo running on GT-S8000

General discussion on Android 2.2 (Froyo)

Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby sploutch » Mon Jan 17, 2011 4:55 pm

Hello,

Following a demand of Dopi to obtain a working Jetplatform-Froyo, I first work on the sources of a CyanogenMod version.
Being very slow and very personal, I decided to make a second version based on the binary SDK.

I shared the two different versions of Froyo so you can test.
Here are the files to obtain a Working Froyo on our GT-S8000 :

************************* Base of SDK platform ***********************************
Update january 18th, patch 0.0.2, Working Fat and USB

1 - Download the rootfs I took the SDK:
http://www.mediafire.com/?ok7xn0d2vi964h3
2 - Extract the archive to your root partition ext3
3 - Download the patch 0.0.2 to run on our Jet:
http://www.mediafire.com/?rbhrhsd89yzg312
4 - Extract the archive to your root partition ext3 confirming the replacement of some files.

************************* Base of CyanogenMod sources ****************************
1 - Download the archive :
http://www.mediafire.com/?upers03hw8csjvw
2 - Extract the archive to your root partition ext3
**********************************************************************************

Run this command, replacing "MyJetDroid" by the name of your ext3 partition:
Code: Select all
sudo chmod -R 777 /media/MyJetDroid
cd /media/MyJetDroid/dev
sudo mknod console c 5 1
sudo chmod 777 console


Note :
First boot :
CyanogenMod Platform -> ~16min
SDK Platform -> ~4 min

In the CyanogenMod Platform, the default launcher is ADW but the original launcher will be deleted.
In the SDK Platform, original launcher or ADW Launcher..

I add to "/data/data/" the parameters for define the standby to 30 minutes.

Currently there are no wifi,or no accelerometer, but I'm working on ;)
SDHC card Fat partition acces only in SDK Platform.

Cheers,
Sploutch
Last edited by sploutch on Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
JetPlatform Froyo on GitHub : https://github.com/sploutch
User avatar
sploutch
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:16 pm
Location: France

Advertisement

       

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby Dopi » Tue Jan 18, 2011 4:25 pm

Hi Sploutch,

thanks for putting together these different versions :D

sploutch wrote:************************* Base of CyanogenMod sources ****************************
1 - Download the archive :
http://www.mediafire.com/?upers03hw8csjvw
2 - Extract the archive to your root partition ext3
**********************************************************************************

I tested this version but it did not seem to work. I need to have a look at the logs to see what the problem was ... I will test the other version, next. Did anyone else try these?

sploutch wrote:In the CyanogenMod Platform, the default launcher is ADW but the original launcher will be deleted.
In the SDK Platform, it was just only the original launcher.

Yes, I know. If you compile ADW launcher with the platform it overwrites the default launcher. We can of course always switch back to the original launcher and leave the installation of ADW or other launchers to the user. However, ADW launcher is not one of the worst launchers ... ;)

sploutch wrote:I add to "/data/data/" the parameters for define the standby to 30 minutes.

I very much hope we won't need this dirty fix too much longer :lol:

Cheers,
Dopi
Ad banners support the JetDroid forum. Please consider clicking them once in a while.
User avatar
Dopi
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 926
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 9:47 pm

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby sploutch » Tue Jan 18, 2011 5:34 pm

Update my first post

patch 0.02 for the Platform SDK

Add multiple binaries.
Add applications "File Manager" and "ADW Launcher
Automatically mount the FAT partition of the SDHC card.
USB Recognition Automatic

link: http://www.mediafire.com/?rbhrhsd89yzg312
JetPlatform Froyo on GitHub : https://github.com/sploutch
User avatar
sploutch
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:16 pm
Location: France

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby MadRocker » Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:51 am

Thanks it works nicely.

ADW = much nicer than normal launcher.
terminal works = :D

I had some speed improvement in other testing by replacing this files below in both ginger and eclair versions, not sure if it would help playing with them for speed improvements in froyo.

system/lib/egl/ -> egl.cfg , libEGL , libEGL.so , libGLESv1*.so , libGLESv2*.so , libq3dtools*.so

WIFI libhardware_legacy.so will break froyo if you use older / other libhardware_legacy.so from eclair wifi.
error = pid before android logo screen on startup.
MadRocker
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 7:15 am

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby Thijs » Wed Jan 19, 2011 10:34 am

MadRocker wrote:I had some speed improvement in other testing by replacing this files below in both ginger and eclair versions, not sure if it would help playing with them for speed improvements in froyo.

system/lib/egl/ -> egl.cfg , libEGL , libEGL.so , libGLESv1*.so , libGLESv2*.so , libq3dtools*.so


Does, adding 2D/3D acceleration related modules give any (additional) speed improvement on Froyo?

See this post: http://jetdroid.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=367&start=10#p3543

Best regards - Thijs
Thijs
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Sep 10, 2010 6:28 pm

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby Jose_Paramore » Wed Jan 19, 2011 7:39 pm

It doesn't work for me...
:S
Come on JétDroid team!!! ;D
User avatar
Jose_Paramore
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:44 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby Jose_Paramore » Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:00 pm

Hi, me and other users are having problems tu run Froyo... it keeps all the time showing the boot animation.
Any idea?
Cheers,
Jose
Come on JétDroid team!!! ;D
User avatar
Jose_Paramore
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:44 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby comperta » Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:20 pm

it works for me.
but you are right Jose_Paramore, I Know two users who have the same problem ...
comperta
Freshman
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 1:31 pm

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby sploutch » Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:21 pm

How is partitioning your SDHC card ?
me : 6Go Fat32 - 2Go ext3
JetPlatform Froyo on GitHub : https://github.com/sploutch
User avatar
sploutch
Dev Team
Dev Team
 
Posts: 139
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2010 1:16 pm
Location: France

Re: Froyo running on GT-S8000

Postby Jose_Paramore » Thu Jan 20, 2011 7:24 pm

comperta wrote:it works for me.
but you are right Jose_Paramore, I Know two users who have the same problem ...

Maybe is the sd card...
I've got an SDHC 8GB Kingston card... which sd card are using you?
Cheers,
Jose
Come on JétDroid team!!! ;D
User avatar
Jose_Paramore
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 312
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:44 pm
Location: Spain

Next

Return to Froyo (Android 2.2)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

  • Advertisement
cron